Asbestos

Asbestos Exposure and Mesothelioma Claims

Posted by on Oct 25, 2013 in Asbestos, Personal Injury | 0 comments

Diseases caused by prolonged and significant asbestos exposure in the US is purported to claim 10,000 lives a year, a staggering number considering that people who die from lung cancer every year is just 3,000. It is estimated that about 1.3 million construction workers in the US are still in active danger from contracting asbestos-related diseases. One of the most deadly of these is malignant mesothelioma, cancer of the lining of major internal organs called the mesothelium.

The disease manifests slowly, between 10 and 50 years after exposure, but it kills quickly, often within 3 years after diagnosis. This is why more than 40 years after the health hazards of asbestos was made known to the public and regulated, there are still personal injury claims being brought against a wide variety of defendants. According to the website of Williams Kherkher, this may also include the U.S. Navy, where asbestos exposure may result from working on ships and shipyards.

Civil litigation for mesothelioma and other asbestos-related diseases is considered the most massive and expensive tort action in the US. More than 700,000 people have made claims against 80,000 defendants. The latter includes banks, construction companies, automobile parts manufacturers, mine owners, property owners, insurance companies and tool manufacturers. In many of the cases brought before the civil courts, the plaintiffs were not exposed to asbestos as a result of their occupation but by simply being in the vicinity where asbestos was present. The tiny, tiny fibers of asbestos permeate into the environment so well that direct contact is not even necessary to sustain grievous and eventually fatal injury.

The statute of limitations for mesothelioma claims from the date of discovery vary from state to state, so it is important to know what applies in your state in case you are diagnosed with mesothelioma or other asbestos-related diseases. In Texas, for example, it is two years from the date of diagnosis or discovery, while in California it is only one. Contact a personal injury lawyer in your state and find out more about your legal options.

Read More